Partnering Institutions

The following universities have provided the faculty, facilities, and finances to support the growth of AAWSM into its current form.


The University of Alabama at Birmingham (UAB)

Greetings from Birmingham, Alabama - "the Magic City". UAB Hospital was recently named first runner-up for National "Hospital of the Year" and UAB has been ranked 5th nationally for diversity by The Princeton Review. As a result, women's advocacy efforts are a key component of UAB's current and future success. The Birmingham branch of the AAWSM collaboration is sponsored by the UAB Physician Scientist Development Office (PSDO), a program that provides training support and opportunities for future academic leaders at every stage of academic training (undergraduates to sub-specialty fellows).


University of Virginia (UVA) School of Medicine

Advocates for Females in Research and Medicine (AFFIRM) at UVA is a group of MD/PhD students with the goal of educating members about inequalities women in research and medicine face and generating educational and networking experiences for students to help overcome these obstacles. The purpose of this year’s symposium is to bring together advocates (male and/or female) for women in science and medicine (from across many disciplines) to facilitate discussion of challenges, goals, tools, and opportunities women face in science and medicine. We hope that by including participants from across medical, graduate, and nursing education we can have in depth conversations and facilitate connections across these disciplines.


University of North Carolina (UNC) School of Medicine

UNC Advocates for MD-PhD Women in Science: Breaking the Glass Ceiling is a student organization at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill which has been founded for the purpose of promoting the success, recognition, and excellence of women in academic medicine and medical research. Further, we seek to understand the underrepresentation of women in MD-PhD programs and advocate for the success and recognition of women MD-PhDs.